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TIME TO PAY AGREEMENT POLICY

After appearing in court, defendants have 90 days to pay their fines and/or costs but may have
additional time for a one- time fee of $10. If you initially choose the 90 days, then decide that
isn’t long enough, you MUST COME IN to sign an up-dated time to pay agreement.

If you need more time after your initial deferred date, YOU WILL HAVE TO SIGN A NEW TIME
TO PAY AGREEMENT WITH THE NEW DUE DATE.

Failure to pay fines and costs that are due MAY result in the court issuing a show cause
summons or a capias for the arrest of the defendant AND upon finding of guilt, the court MAY
impose up to 60 days in jail for the defendant to serve and/or a SSOO 00 fine, pursuant to the
Virginia Code section 19.2-358.

DEFERRED PAYMENT AGREEMENT
CODE SECTION 19.2-354

A DEFERRED PAYMENT AGREEMENT requires a MANDATORY APPEARANCE.
The following conditions must be met to enter a deferred payment plan:
1) The defendant must complete form DC 211; Petition for Payment Agreement, AND
form DC 210; Acknowledgment of Suspension.

The first payment plan entered, does not require a down payment, however, each
subsequent plan will require the following:

A) The court SHALL require a down payment of 10% when the fine and costs
owed are $500.00 or less.

B) The court SHALL require a down payment of 5% or $50.00; whichever is
greater, when the fine and costs owed are more than $500.00.



C) The court requires you to make MONTHLY payments to extend any payment
agreement in place if full payment is not reached by the due date.

D) The defendant MUST always keep the court up to date of your current

address. Failure to do so, may result in revocation of your agreement.

2. The terms of the Deferred Payment Agreement shall be determined by the
remaining balance owed by the defendant as follows:

a) REMAINING BALANCE UP TO $200.00 90 DAYS
b) REMAINING BALANCE $200 - $1,000.00 6 MONTHS
c) REMAINING BALANCE OVER $1,000.00 12 MONTHS

The court may, AT THE DESCRETION OF THE JUDGE only, credit acceptable and properly
verified community service work towards the defendant’s obligation to pay fines and costs.
(Pursuant to Virginia Code §19.2-354, when available, a defendant may request that the Court authorize
community service in lieu of payments of fines and/or costs. Community service is not authorized for
payment of restitution. If granted, each hour of community service shall be deemed payment in the
amount of one hour's current minimum wage. The Court shall set the minimum hours of community
service which must be performed each month. Community service must be supervised at a local
nonprofit organization and written verification of hours worked must be provided by the supervising
authority to the Court.)

Your payment options are check, money order, credit card (VISA, MC, DISCOVER) or cash, if you
come in person. You can pay on-line, by mail, or in person. We DO NOT take payments over the
phone. There is an ADDITIONAL 4% fee for using your credit card (whether paying on-line or in
person).

PLEASE NOTE: THIS PAYMENT POLICY DOES NOT APPLY TO RESTITUTION. NO EXTENSIONS
WILL BE GRANTED BY THE CLERK FOR RESTITUTION
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