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TIME TO PAY POLICY (EFFECTIVE JANUARY 17, 2024)

This policy for Payment Agreements for the collection of fine and costs in the Shenandoah County
General District Court is effective beginning January 17, 2024, and shall replace any and all previous
payment agreements.

Fines and costs are due on the initial day of Court. However, a grace period of 90 days is given to each
defendant whether the party appears in court or is tried in absentia.

Any person needing longer than the default ninety (90) days to pay shall sign a DC-210 Time to Pay
Agreement (TTP) with a deferred payment plan. The Defendant shall be assessed a one-time fee of Ten
Dollars ($10.00) per Virginia Code 19.2-354. If the amount owed is not paid in full by the given date, and
the defendant has not entered into a new payment agreement before default, the account will then be
considered delinquent, and a 17% collection fee will be assessed. No interest shall accrue for 180 days
from the date of conviction, during any period of incarceration, or for 180 days from the release of an active
incarceration.

If a defendant has defaulted on a previous TTP agreement or needs to extend an existing TTP agreement,
the defendant can become eligible to enter a new TTP agreement, however, a down payment is required
and will be as follows:

--Amount owed $500 or less — a down payment of 10% of the total owed.
--Amount owed $500 or more — a down payment of 5% of the total owed or $50.00, whichever is greater.

This Payment Agreement is applicable to fines and costs only. Restitution amounts will be handled on a
separate payment schedule as entered by the Court.

Community Service: a portion of your fine and costs may be discharged by performing community
service. Community service cannot be performed in lieu of paying restitution owed. Only the Judge can

authorize this request and it must be made in writing.

The defendant must promptly notify the court of any change of address during the term of the payment
agreement.

Posted as required by the Supreme Court of Virginia and the Auditor of Public Accounts.



