EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

RONALD N. REGNERY

SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA

JUDICIAL INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

JUDICIAL SERVICES
PAUL F. DELOSH, DIRECTOR

LEGAL RESEARCH EILEEN A. LONGENECKER, DIRECTOR

ALISA W. PADDEN, DIRECTOR

JONATHAN E. GREEN, DIRECTOR

JOBY KNUTH, DIRECTOR

LEGISLATIVE & PUBLIC RELATIONS

MAGISTRATE SERVICES

FISCAL SERVICES BARRY M WENZIG DIRECTOR

EDUCATIONAL SERVICES

HUMAN RESOURCES RENÉE FLEMING MILLS, DIRECTOR

COURT IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM

ASSISTANT EXECUTIVE SECRETARY & LEGAL COUNSEL

CAROLINE E. KIRKPATRICK, DIRECTOR

OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY 100 NORTH NINTH STREET RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219-2334

(804) 786-6455

Press Release – June 3, 2025

## THE HONORABLE S. BERNARD GOODWYN IS RECIPIENT OF 2024 HARRY L. CARRICO OUTSTANDING CAREER SERVICE AWARD

The Judicial Council of Virginia has named the Honorable S. Bernard Goodwyn, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Virginia, as the recipient of the 2024 Harry L. Carrico Outstanding Career Service Award. Chief Justice Goodwyn was presented the award at the annual meeting of the Judicial Conference of Virginia on May 15, 2025.

Awarded in honor of the longest serving chief justice and the longest serving member in the history of the Supreme Court of Virginia, The Harry L. Carrico Outstanding Career Service Award is presented annually by the Judicial Council of Virginia to a Virginia judge who, over an extended career, has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the administration of the courts while exhibiting the traits of integrity, courtesy, impartiality, wisdom, and humility. All appellate, circuit and district court judges are eligible for nomination.

In presenting the Award, Justice Cleo Powell stated, "Chief Justice Goodwyn's career is a testament to the very essence of professionalism embodied by Justice Carrico. His dedication to fairness, equal access to justice, and the integrity of the judicial system resonates deeply with the spirit of this award."

Chief Justice Goodwyn is a member of the Board of Directors of the Conference of Chief Justices and Chair of its Criminal Justice Committee, and the former Co-Chair of the Virginia Access to Justice Commission. Chief Justice Goodwyn is a recipient of the Virginia Bar Association's Gerald L. Baliles Distinguished Service Award.

Chief Justice Goodwyn was appointed to the Supreme Court of Virginia by Governor Timothy M. Kaine in 2007 and was unanimously elected by the General Assembly to the Supreme Court of Virginia in 2008 and re-elected in 2020. The Justices of the Supreme Court of Virginia unanimously elected him to serve as Chief Justice effective January 1, 2022. Chief Justice Goodwyn previously served for ten years as a Judge of the Chesapeake Circuit Court and for two years as a Judge of the Chesapeake General District Court.

Prior to his distinguished career on the bench, Chief Justice Goodwyn served in private law practice and as faculty at the University of Virginia School of Law. He earned his undergraduate degree from Harvard University and his law degree from the University of Virginia.

About the Judicial Council of Virginia: The Judicial Council of Virginia is charged with the responsibility for making a continuous study of the organization, rules and methods of procedure and practice of the judicial system of the Commonwealth. It is also responsible for examining the work accomplished and results produced by the system and its individual offices and courts. A report of the proceedings and recommendations of the Council is made to the General Assembly and to the Supreme Court on an annual basis. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court is presiding officer for the Council whose membership includes one Court of Appeals judge, six circuit court judges, one general district court judge, one juvenile and domestic relations district court judge, two attorneys qualified to practice in the Supreme Court, and the Chairman of the House Committee for Courts of Justice and the Chairman of the Senate Committee on the Judiciary or their designees. The Chief Justice and legislative members serve terms coincident with their terms of office, while other Council members are appointed by the Chief Justice and serve for four years or at the pleasure of the Chief Justice.

Media contact: Alisa W. Padden, Office of the Executive Secretary, Supreme Court of Virginia, (804) 786-6455.