Bedford Circuit Court: Notary Public
The content of this page was provided by the Bedford Circuit Court and has been posted on Virginia's Judicial System Web site as a courtesy to the Bedford Circuit Court.
A Notary Public is a person legally empowered to witness and certify documents and to take affidavits and depositions.
Qualifications to become a Notary Public:
- Must be at least 18 years of age.
- Must be a citizen of the United States.
- Must be able to read and write the English language.
- Anyone who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of the United States or this Commonwealth, or the laws of any other state, shall not be qualified to be appointed and commissioned as a Notary Public unless such person has been pardoned for such felony or has had his/her rights restored.
- A nonresident of Virginia may be appointed only if he/she is regularly employed in the Commonwealth and if such appointment will be necessary or useful to him/her in such employment.
- To become a Notary Public or to renew a Notary Commission, an application must be completed as prescribed by the Secretary of the Commonwealth. Forms may be obtained at any Circuit Court Clerk's Office or completed online at https://commonwealth.virginia.gov/applications/notary-commissions/.
- Upon completion of the application with proper endorsements, the form should
be mailed with a check in the amount of $45.00 payable to the Treasurer of
Secretary of the Commonwealth
P.O. Box 1795
Richmond, VA 23218-1795
- In three to five weeks the Secretary of Commonwealth will mail a confirmation letter advising that the Commission papers have been sent to the Clerk's Office requested by applicant.
- Applicant must appear in the Clerk's Office in person, take an oath, and pay a $10.00 Clerk's fee.
- Applicant has 60 days from date of appointment to take the oath at the requested Clerk's Office. After 60 days the commission will be returned to the Secretary of Commonwealth, and applicant must reapply.
- Notary commission is valid for four years.
Clerk's Office Hours:
8:30 am to 5:00 pm – Monday through Friday